GiffordThe Gifford Lectures are internationally renowned for their contributions to the advancement of theological and philosophical thought. They are held annually at the four ancient Scottish universities, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Aberdeen and St. Andrews.

At the University of Edinburgh, a series of six lectures and a single lecture are arranged each academic year. Distinguished speakers from diverse academic disciplines and professional backgrounds are invited to deliver lectures on topics of their choosing that fall within the terms of the Gifford Lectureship Trust Deed.

Past Gifford Lecturers at Edinburgh include William James, John Dewey, Albert Schweitzer, Reinhold Niebuhr, Niels Bohr, Arnold Toynbee, Rudolf Bultmann, John Eccles, Iris Murdoch, Paul Ricoeur, Charles Taylor, Michael Ignatieff, Wentzel van Huyssteen, Noam Chomsky, Jean Bethke Elshtain, Simon Conway Morris, Alexander Nehamas, Robert Veatch, Jonathan Sacks, Diana Eck, Mike Gazzaniga, Terry Eagleton, Patricia Churchland, Bruno Latour, Steven Pinker, Rowan Williams, Catherine O’Regan, and Kathryn Tanner.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s